L’histoire de l’OISA

Le 8 juin 2011, le premier président de la République du Kazakhstan, S.E. Nursultan NAZARBAYEV, a annoncé la nécessité de créer une entité spécialisée dans la sécurité alimentaire au sein de l'OCI lors de la 7e session du Forum Économique Islamique Mondial à Astana.

On June 8, 2011, the First President of the Republic of Kazakhstan H.E. Nursultan Nazarbayev announced the need for a specialized food security entity within the OIC at the 7th session of the World Islamic Economic Forum in Astana. At the 38th session of the Council of Foreign Ministers of OIC, he mentioned it again and suggested locating the headquarters in Kazakhstan, a food-producing and exporting state.

This idea was very timely, considering the relevance of food insecurity and hunger in many Islamic countries. In his address to the participants of the Inaugural General Assembly of IOFS in Astana (April 2016), the Leader of the Nation noted that the Muslim world must not stay aside from the agricultural development and global efforts to eradicate hunger.

At the high-level forum on “Sustainable Development under the UN General Assembly” in 2019, the President of Kazakhstan Kassym-Jomart Tokayev pointed out the importance of the goals of the Islamic Organization for Food Security, which are aimed at solving the problems of desertification, deforestation, erosion, salinization, and social insecurity. He expressed hope that all 57 OIC member states will join this initiative in near future.

In September 2020, on the 75th session of the UN General Assembly, President of the Republic of Kazakhstan Kassym-Zhomart Tokayev noted the role of the IOFS in humanitarian aid: «The next 10 years are critical for our generation. The fundamental goal – the complete eradication of hunger across the globe must be achieved unconditionally. In this regard, we note the importance of convening the Food Systems Summit in 2021. The Islamic Organization for Food Security is willing to provide comprehensive support for the development of food reserves and implementation of a large-scale international humanitarian campaign».

The next 10 years are critical for our generation. The fundamental goal – the complete eradication of hunger across the globe must be achieved unconditionally.
The name “Islamic Organization for Food Security” (IOFS) and the Statute of this specialized institution of the OIC were formulated at the Intergovernmental Meeting of Experts of the OIC Member States on June 11-12, 2013.

On December 9-11, 2013, during the 40th session of CFM in Conakry, Guinea, 19 OIC member countries signed the IOFS Statute, and thus became the official members of IOFS.

The Inaugural session of the IOFS General Assembly was held in conjunction with the 7th Ministerial Conference on Food Security and Agricultural Development on April 26-28, 2016 in Astana, Kazakhstan. The hosting country was elected a Chair of the IOFS General Assembly, Côte d’Ivoire and Palestine – as Vice-Chairs.

The Second General Assembly took place on August 27-29, 2019 in Jeddah, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. Saudi Arabia was elected as a Chair of the General Assembly, Tajikistan and Gambia as Vice-Chairs, and Kazakhstan as Rapporteur.

The Third General Assembly was held online on December 2-3, 2020 in Ankara, Turkey

Turkey. All 16 strategic programmes of IOFS were approved by the member states. Tunisia officially announced its intention to join IOFS in nearest future.

The Fourth General Assembly is scheduled to take place in 2021 in Astana, Republic of Kazakhstan.

The activities of the IOFS are financed by mandatory and voluntary contributions, donations, funds for specific projects, as well as revenues from publications and services.

The first three years (2017-2019) of the IOFS Secretariat activities were funded by the voluntary contributions of the Republic of Kazakhstan.

In 2020, Kazakhstan, Bangladesh, and UAE transferred the mandatory contributions and Saudi Arabia submitted the voluntary contributions.

À l'heure actuelle, l'OIFS est composée de 36 pays sur 57 États de l'OCI, dont 17 ont ratifié le Statu
États Membres Date d'adhésion
République islamique d’Afghanistan 2013
République populaire du Bangladesh 2016
République du Bénin 2015
Burkina Faso 2013
République du Cameroun 2015
République de Côte d’Ivoire 2016
République de Djibouti 2013
République Arabe d'Egypte 2016
République du Tchad 2022
Union des Comores 2013
République islamique du Pakistan 2013
République islamique d’Iran 2013
République de Guinée 2013
République de Guinée-Bissau 2013
République de Sierra Leone 2013
République de Gambie 2013
République du Kazakhstan 2013
République du Niger 2013
État de Libye 2014
Royaume d’Arabie saoudite 2016
État du Koweït 2016
État du Qatar 2016
République fédérale du Nigeria 2019
République du Mali 2013
République islamique de Mauritanie 2013
République du Mozambique 2016
Royaume du Maroc 2021
République de Palestine 2013
République du Sénégal 2017
République du Soudan 2013
République du Suriname 2013
Federal Republic of Somalia 2013
République du Tadjikistan 2016
République tunisienne 2021
République de Turquie 2013
République d'Ouganda 2013
État des Emirats Arabes Unis 2015