Republic of Tunisia

Tunisia (Arabicتونس),[a] officially the Republic of Tunisia, is a country in the Maghreb region of North Africa, covering 163,610 square kilometres (63,170 square miles). Its northernmost point, Cape Angela, is also the northernmost point on the African continent. Tunisia is bordered by Algeria to the west and southwest, Libya to the southeast, and the Mediterranean Sea to the north and east. Tunisia's population was 11.5 million in 2017. Tunisia's name is derived from its capital city, Tunis (Berber native name: Tunest), which is located on its northeast coast.
Tunisia is a unitary semi-presidential representative democratic republicIt has a high human development index.[15] It has an association agreement with the European Union; is a member of La Francophonie, the Union for the Mediterranean, the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa, the Arab Maghreb Union, the Arab League, the OIC, the Greater Arab Free Trade Area, the Community of Sahel–Saharan States, the African Union, the Non-Aligned Movement, the Group of 77; and has obtained the status of major non-NATO ally of the United States. In addition, Tunisia is also a member state of the United Nations and a state party to the Rome Statute of the International Criminal Court. Close relations with Europe, in particular with France[21] and with Italy,[22][23] have been forged through economic cooperation, privatisation and industrial modernization.

163 610.0
11 565 204
Arabic, French
Minister of Agriculture
Samir Altayib
Link to the Website of the Ministry
Food Security Index
Source for Food Security Index

Tunisia in news