Kingdom of Morocco

Morocco (/məˈrɒk/ (About this soundlisten)Arabicالمغرب‎, romanizedal-maġhriblit. 'place the sun sets; the west'; Standard Moroccan Tamazightⵍⵎⵖⵔⵉⴱromanized: lmeɣribFrenchMaroc), officially the Kingdom of Morocco is a country located in the Maghreb region of North Africa. It overlooks the Mediterranean Sea to the north and the Atlantic Ocean to the west. The capital is Rabat and the largest city Casablanca. Morocco spans an area of 710,850 km2 (274,460 sq mi).
The sovereign state is a unitary constitutional monarchy with an elected parliament. The country wields significant influence in both Africa and the Arab world, and is considered a regional power and a middle power. The King of Morocco holds vast executive and legislative powers, especially over the military, foreign policy and religious affairs. Executive power is exercised by the government, while legislative power is vested in both the government and the two chambers of parliament, the Assembly of Representatives and the Assembly of Councillors. The king can issue decrees called dahirs, which have the force of law. He can also dissolve the parliament after consulting the Prime Minister and the president of the constitutional court.

Morocco's predominant religion is Islam, and its official languages are Arabic and Berber, the latter achieving official recognition in 2011,[14] having been the native language of Morocco before the Muslim conquest in the seventh century C.E.[15] The Moroccan dialect of Arabic, referred to as Darija, and French are also widely spoken. Moroccan culture is a blend of Berber, Arab, Sephardi Jews, West African and European influences.
Morocco is a member of the Arab League, the Union for the Mediterranean and the African Union.

446 550.0
36 029 138
Arabic, Berber, French
Minister of Agriculture
Aziz Akhannouch
Link to the Website of the Ministry
Food Security Index
Source for Food Security Index

Morocco in news